HURTFUL OR JUST PLAIN IGNORANT THINGS PEOPLE SAY TO ME!(Parent of Special Needs Child)

Standard

*While introducing the child to others “this is our SPECIAL” friend, relative
*With my daughter standing right there: “You know I have a child with DS. How has it been for you so far?”
*”What doctor do you use for her”?
*With daughter standing there, person says to ME: “What’s her name?” “How old is she?” “Does she talk”?(ASK HER!!!!!) While I watch Charla say, “My name is Charla and I’m 19″. Oddly enough the person looking on seems to still be waiting for the answer to their third question! 🙂
*”I just don’t think I could handle it” with Charla standing right there.
*I have a niece who has “THAT”
(MORE TO FOLLOW) I need to go and have a cup of coffee:)drp

2 responses »

  1. “she’s too big for that stroller!”

    “it’s so nice that they make a contraption (speaking of her wheelchair) so she can get out in public”

    Speaking to Kaylee: “you should get down and walk so mommy can have a break”

    Kid to parent: “look she’s in a wheelchair”
    Parent to kid: ” no honey that’s a stroller”
    ****Actually it is a wheelchair

    After seeing me verbally communicate with Kaylee and her responding with verbal approximation and sign language: “Why is she using sign language? Is she deaf?”

  2. Most people are just plain ignorant and callus. They have no idea how much love Charla has to give if just given the chance!!!

Leave a Reply

